Main Forum

Love in the Age of Lag

2 replies
Votes:
+8
Contributor
Veteran +
Hello everyone! My IGN is pinkbrick and I’ve been enjoying the community of DragonTech for some time now… most recently with the newly released server, Arcana Technologies. Of the current three servers DragonTech offers, Arcana Technologies offers me the best jumble of mods I most enjoy. Unfortunately, growing discontent over server performance is precipitating changes to the mod mix… changes that are aversely affecting the very reason for playing this particular mod-pack.

Admittedly, I along with many others, have been suffering proficiency issues with Arcana Technologies—for me in particular, performance tends to suffer post teleportation commands, during combat with malevolent mobs, as well as the occasional block lag during mining expeditions. I am not a coder or a mod designer, but from my own anecdotal experience, the aforementioned performance drop isn't uncommon for modded minecraft. I’ve played on a variety of servers offering a variety of mod-packs, including but not limited to, MindCrack, Infinity Evolved, and B-Team… and all of them, without an exception, suffered performance issues… all of them… every single one of them… I would like to see a single modded server without performance issues… just one… but it doesn't exist. I’ve likewise played on a lot of different Vanilla servers… and while the deficiencies typically aren't as severe as with modded servers, they too suffered from TPS drops… every single one…

Part of playability seems invariable linked to peep census… it makes sense if a mod is particularly demanding on performance, that the more often it is used—as more and more peeps use it—the more adverse issues the server will suffer. Likewise, if the players live in close proximity to one another on the server, local performance complications will be likewise compounded.